Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Waiting On Wednesday (5)


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine. This is a once-a-week look at the book(s) I am anxiously awaiting release. 

"The Deepest Night" by Shana Abe

This book is scheduled to be released August 13th, 2013. It is the second book in The Sweetest Dark series.

A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Night seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure--perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.

It's 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England's southern coast. While she's always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanting being with astonishing magical abilities.

As war hits Britain's shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort--and to keep Lora by his side--Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her--bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.

Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.

With Armand, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission--one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart. Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love.

I am not normally one for historical romances, however, I don't think this book fits in that category too easily. I think it is more of a young adult paranormal romance book that just happens to be sit in a historical time frame. It is by no means one of those "bodice rippers" that I scornfully avoid like the plague. Not to mention the whole drákon (obviously interpreted to mean 'dragon') intrigues me. I sometimes find the tedious nature of werewolf and vampire books to be monatonous. It is nice to see something a little different.

What are you "Waiting On" this Wednesday?

post signature