Monday, August 12, 2013

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? (15)


"It's Monday! What are you reading?" is a meme hosted by Sheila @ Book Journey

Currently Reading

Demon by Kristina Douglas
This is the second book in the Fallen series.
Received from the local Library.

Once the Fallen's fearless ruler, a grieving Azazel must find the legendary siren meant to take his lost lover's place... and kill her.

He's a devil of an angel.

Azazel should have extinguished the deadly Lilith when he had the chance. Now, faced with a prophecy that will force him to betray the memory of his one true love and wed the Demon Queen, he cannot end her life until she leads him to Lucifer. Finding the First is the Fallen's only hope for protecting mankind from Uriel's destruction, but Azazel knows that ignoring his simmering desire for the Lilith will be almost as impossible.

Rachel Fitzpatrick wonders how Azazel could confuse her with an evil seductress. She's never even been interesting in sex! At least not before she set eyes on her breathtaking captor. And now she can't think about anything else--besides escape.

Angels and demons don't mix.

Rachel stirs a carnal need in Azazel that he never thought he'd feel again. Falling for a demon--even if she has no idea she's the Lilith--means surrendering his very soul. But if he let her go, he risks abandoning his heart, his dangerous lover, and possibly his humanity, to Uriel's deadly wrath.

Weekly Reading Options
NetGalley Reads


Shadows by Paula Weston
This is the first book in the Rephaim series.
Received from NetGalley for Review.


It's almost a year since Gaby Winters was in the car crash that killed her twin brother, Jude. Her body has healed in the sunshine of Pandanus Beach, and her grief is raw and constant. It doesn't help that every night in her dreams she kills demons and other hell-spawn.

And then Rafa comes to town. Not only does he look exactly like the guy who's been appearing in Gaby's dreams--he claims a history with her brother that makes no sense. Gaby is forced to accept that what she thought she knew about herself and her life is only a shadow of the truth--and that the truth is more likely to be found in the shadows of her nightmares. 

Who is Rafa? Who are the Raphaim? And more importantly, who can she trust?

Fast-paced and gripping, Shadows, the first book in the Raphaim series, is a standout paranormal romance for fans of Richelle Mead and Cassandra Clare.

Arrow of the Mist by Christina Mercer
This is the first book in the Arrow of the Mist series.
Received from NetGalley for Review.


Terror strikes the Celtic inspired kingdom of Nemetona when barbed roots breach the veil of a forbidden land and poison woodsmen, including 15-year-old Lia's beloved father. Lia and three others embark on a quest to the forbidden land of Brume to gather ingredients for the cure. But after her elder kinsman is attacked and poisoned, she and her cousin, Wynn, are forced to finish the quest on their own.

Lia relies on her powerful herbal wisdom and the mesmerized pages of her late grandmother's Grimoire for guidance through a land of soul-hungry shades, trickster creatures, and uncovered truths about the origins of Brune and her family's unexpected ties to it. The deeper they trek into the land, the stronger Lia's untapped gift as a tree mage unfolds. When she discovers the enchanted root's maker, it forces her to question everything about who she is and what is her destiny. Ultimately she must make a terrible choice: keep fighting to save her father and the people of the lands or join with the power behind the deadly roots to help nature start anew.


Introductions by C.L. Stone
This is the first book in the Academy series.
Received from NetGalley for Review.


With an agoraphobic mother and a barely-there father, Sang abhors the isolation keeping her in the shadows. The only thing Sang craves is a fresh start and to be accepted as ordinary by her peers, because for her being different meant being cast out alone. 

When her family moves to a new school district, Sang infiltrates a group of boys nearly perfect in every way. Grateful for an influence outside of her parents' negativity, she quickly bonds with the boys, hoping to blend in and learn from them what it means to have a natural relationship with friends.

Only the boys have secrets of their own and they'll do anything to keep her safe from the knowledge of the mysterious Academy that they've sworn allegiance to. Bit by bit, Sang discovers that her friends are far from the normalcy she expected. Will her loyalty change when she's forced to remain in the dark, or will she accept that she's traded one house of secrets for another?

Meet Kota, Victor, Silas, Nathan, Gabriel, Luke, and North in a story about differences and loyalty, truth and mystery, friendships and heart-throbbing intimacy.

The Academy, ever vigilant.


I am always open to recommendations. What books have you read lately that you would think I'd be interested in? Leave a comment and let me know! Happy Reading! :)

post signature