Monday, September 9, 2013

ARC Review: Shadows by Paula Weston

Title: Shadows

Author: Paula Weston

Series: The Rephaim #1

Publication date: September 10th, 2013

ISBN: 9781770495470

Synopsis (according to Goodreads):
It's almost a year since Gaby Winters was in the car crash that killed her twin brother, Jude. Her body has healed in the sunshine of Pandanus Beach, but her grief is raw and constant. It doesn't help that every night in her dreams she kills demons and other hell-spawn.

And then Rafa comes to town. Not only does he look exactly like the guy who's been appearing in Gaby's dreams--he claims a history with her brother that makes no sense. Gaby is forced to accept that what she thought she knew about herself and her life is only a shadow of the truth--and that the truth is more likely to be found in the shadows of her nightmares.

Who is Rafa? Who are the Rephaim? And most importantly, who can she trust?

Fast-paced and gripping, Shadows, the first book in the Rephaim series, is a standout paranormal romance for fans of Richelle Mead and Cassandra Clare.

Review:
I received an e-copy of this book from the publishers at NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I am not sure where I learned about this book. I may have seen it on another book blogger's site or I may have just saw it on NetGalley and thought it would make for an interesting read. However I ended up learning about this book, I sure am glad I did.

Paula Weston's Shadows opens with a girl named Gaby enjoying the simplicity of her life. She gets a new job at a library, she lives with her best friend on a beachside bungalow, but she is nursing the emotional and physical wounds of losing her twin brother in a car crash. A year after the accident that stole her brother from her, she is still brokenhearted and devastated at the loss. She is plagued by grotesque and disturbing dreams of monsters and blood, to which she chalks up to a warped subconscious trying to make sense of her overwhelming pain. It is only through her determination to live her life that she ends up at a bar not far from her home and face-to-face with the boy who has become an ongoing feature in her horrific dreams.

Rafa believes Gaby is the girl he knew in the past. They had an constant rivalry that made pushing her buttons all that much more fun. However, when the button pushing only warrants a confused grimace, Rafa must face the truth that Gaby may have once been his best friend's twin sister, but is now a complete stranger. Rafa, desperate to believe the Gaby he once knew is still inside her finds himself in the position of protecting her from the demons and Rephaim that would do her harm in her current state. What neither he nor Gaby banked on was a sudden attraction to sprout between them in the path of such confusing and dangerous times.

With most of the books I receive for review, I read the synopsis only in order to request them and when I start reading them, I go in blind. I did not read the synopsis before hand and so was indifferent to the story once I began. That quickly changed as I found myself thoroughly engulfed in the stories of the Rephaim and Gaby's lost memories. The romance simmering between Rafa and Gaby hooked me into their world even more. I was gripping my Kindle as if I was starving and Shadows was the only substance that would sate me. I went on one of my customary book binges and could not put it down.

Shadows is a paranormal read that brings about more and more questions and intrigue with every flip of the page. It draws it's readers in and doesn't release them until the final word of the final sentence. Shadows gave me a book hangover on a monumental degree. What can compare? How can I find anything as all-consuming as the world Weston created? And most importantly, when can I get my hands on the sequel, Haze?

Available at:
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg photo 111AD205-AA04-4F9E-A0F4-C1264C4E9F30-1855-000001A1E8CEB6D7_zps9b730b94.jpg photo KoboIcon_zps515cdc1a.jpg


post signature